Praise For ‘Cinderella Ate My Daughter’

“A must-read for any parent trying to stay sane in a media saturated world.”
—Rachel Simmons, author of Odd Girl Out and The Curse of the Good Girl

“At times this book brings tears to your eyes—tears of frustration with today’s girl-culture and also of relief because somebody finally gets it.”
—Judith Warner, author of Perfect Madness: Motherhood in the Age of Anxiety

“Every mother needs to read this.”
—Ayelet Waldman, author of Bad Mother

more praise >

Recent Articles

December 25, 2014
The Lives They Lived: Shirley Temple Black
The New York Times Magazine

December 7, 2014
When Cancer is Not Cancer
The California Sunday Magazine

July 27, 2014
The Wrong Approach to Breast Cancer
The New York Times

June 14, 2014
The Battle Over Dress Codes
The New York Times

March, 2014
Beauty Self-Acceptance--At Last
MORE Magazine

September, 2013
Call of the Wild
MORE Magazine

September 1, 2013
Grieving Traditions Lost In Berkeley Camp Flames
The San Francisco Chronicle

more articles >

Books

Reviews & Press

for Cinderella Ate My Daughter: Dispatches from the Frontlines of the New Girlie-Girl Culture

REVIEWS & PRESS

Here’s a 2014 interview I did on PBS News Hour:

Here’s a 2012 KQED Forum appearance discussing the “ambition gap” along with the Simone Marean of Girls Leadership Institute and Jennifer Berger of About-Face.

 

PRINT:

“Orenstein has done parents the great favor of having this important debate with herself on paper and in public; she has fashioned an argument with its seams showing and its pockets turned inside out, and this makes her book far more interesting, and more useful.” Annie Paul, The New York Times Book Review

“A teenager’s precocious vampiness may seem different from a preschooler’s innocent pink high heels and tiara, but Orenstein argues that both reflect a disturbing trend of self-objectification, a desire for beauty as defined by others, driven by a media and marketing machine that ‘tells girls that how you look is more important than how you feel.'”  Kate Tuttle, The Boston Globe

“Orenstein is an unapologetically passionate critic of the marketing onslaught she skewers so stunningly in her latest and most masterful book.” Meredith Maran, San Francisco Chronicle

“Orenstein uses a friendly, deceptively informal approach to present a well-researched case against fairy-tale-style femininity….As a result, “Cinderella Ate My Daughter” is entertaining as well as useful, not only for parents of daughters. Christy DeSmith, Minneapolis Star/Tribune

“Orenstein is such a breezy, funny writer, it’s easy to forget she’s an important thinker too.” “People Pick”/Four Stars–People

“Orenstein skillfully integrates extensive research that demonstrates the pitfalls of “the girlie-girl culture’s emphasis on beauty and play-sexiness,” which can increase girls’ vulnerability to depression, distorted body images and eating disorders, and sexual risks. It’s the personal anecdotes, though, which are delivered with wry, self-deprecating, highly quotable humor, that offer the greatest invitation to parents to consider their daughters’ worlds and how they can help to shape a healthier, soul-nurturing environment.”— Booklist

Intelligent and richly insightful.”— Kirkus (starred review)

“With insight and biting humor, the author explores her own conflicting feelings as a mother as she protects her offspring and probes the roots and tendrils of the girlie-girl movement.— Publisher’s Weekly

 

“…reading Cinderella feels like what I imagine it might be like sit at a cafe with Orenstein, whose writing style is engaging and conversational without being dumbed-down.”  Myla Goldberg, Slate.com

“a sparkling and provocative look at the new ‘girlie girl’culture that has taken our daughters hostage.–Daphne Merkin, MORE, February 2011

“Titles to Pick Up Now by reporting on how retro-feminist attitudes of the 50s are being hustled to innocent girls in the blood-chilling Cinderella Ate My Daughter–Hot Type,” Vanity Fair, February 2011

New York Magazine “Approval Matrix” calls CAMD “brilliant/highbrow”

Oprah.com made CAMD it’s #1 book pick for February 2011!

And in October 2013 the magazine named CAMD one of its ten Books that Speak the Truth.

This Forbes blog calls CAMD a “huge hit!”

A  Q&A with me in Mother Jones. Mike Mechanic (no relation to Bob the Builder) makes me sound really smart.

Here’s another Q&A, this one with the inimitable Pamela Paul in Parents. Love the art!

A nice write up by Jessica Bennett from  Newsweek

A swell write up by Erin Zammett Ruddy from Parenting

A chat with Mary Beth Williams of Salon

A Q&A with Rachel Simmons, author of the brilliant classics The Curse of the Good Girl and Odd Girl Out and founder of Girls Leadership Institute.

A feature on CAMD in the Sunday Los Angeles Times “Calendar” section!

And a follow up in the Los Angeles Times online!

A Q&A from the Washington Post Express

A super generous write-up in the Houston Chronicle

A featurette in the San Jose Mercury News

USA Today takes on marketers’ hyper-sexualization of girls (with a nice mention of CAMD)

According to “Gawker”: “These days the way to judge someone’s buzz level has come down to one question: has he/she been animated by the Taiwanese company NMA yet?” Well, guess what?

International press: The London Guardian’s Observer Magazine’s excerpt of CAMD

A lovely Q&A with Parent Dish

From Tablet: A New Read on Jewish Life

And a Q&A with LiveScience.com (Go girls in science!)

On the Ladies Home Journal site

And iVillage!

The feministing 5 and five questions from Shewrites

Some home town love: a Q&A in Berkeleyside

From my native Midwest, a nice write-up in Today’s Chicago Woman

The Santa Cruz Sentinel on princesses as a “gateway drug.”

I love this review on the blog “A Design So Vast.”

Also this one on the blog “Sexyfeminist

And this one on 5minutesformom

Also this one from The New Perfect

And this one on Christianity Today’s “Her*Meneutics” blog

The Jewish Advocate’s piece was not chopped liver!

The women of Bookslut are my literary sheroes.

Strollerderby mentions CAMD in an excellent post on the Disney Priness Half-Marathan.

A thoughtful response from the Ms. Blog.

This review on the Canadian Blog rabble.ca helped me crystallize my own thinking further!

I love that Mommyish focused on the part that being anti-sexualization is actually being pro-sex.

 

RADIO, TV & VIDEO

Here’s a link to my appearance on “The Diane Rehm Show.”

What a thrill to talk about CAMD with Linda Wertheimer on NPR’S “All Things Considered!”

It’s always great to be on KQED’s “Forum

Beforehand in the green room, caught on video:

Discussing CAMD  KPCC’s “AirTalk.”

And KVON “Late Morning”

Here’s a discussion with the wonderful David Sirota on Denver’s 760 AM

And one on KUOW in Seattle.

And on KBOO in Portland

Loved talking to Lydia Neufeld of Edmonton CBC’s Edmonton AM. Podcast

Sadly, both CNBC and the Today Show take down their shows after awhile so I no longer have video for those. But here’s an interview I did “behind the scenes” before my Today Show appearance for CAMD.

Here’s a one-hour lunchtime discussion I did with Kaveri Subrahmanyan at Google Santa Monica.

More from the Today Show’s web site quoting me on the tarting up of classic toys.

Here’s a 2012 interview with Madeline Brand on PBS SoCal (LA)

A radio interview with KUSP, the Santa Cruz NPR affiliate. (this link takes you to a book review and link to a pod cast)

Radio interview on “Healthy Media Choices.”